Wednesdays for regrouping

I so appreciate not working on Wednesdays. It gives me time to regroup; do some mid week washing, shopping and cooking. It gives me some time with my boy, to read books together and play. Right now, I am sitting here and writing shopping lists and to-do lists for today. Today I want to cook some soup for lunches the rest of the week and next week. I want to cook dinner for tonight and tomorrow night.

I went out running this morning. That is the other thing about Wednesday mornings; because I am not rushing out the door to work I can go out early and get my exercise done. It was a good workout. I did 6.78km in 58 minutes. 40 minutes of this time was running, there were walking segments and squats throughout. I was happy with my pace throughout. My little boy saw me just after I was back all hot and sweaty. I like explaining to him that I go out running and that he sees the effort and the satisfaction I get from exercise.

Yesterday in my lunch break I went out for a walk. I did not run and I am pleased that I stuck with a lower intensity workout. I walked quickly and worked up a sweat. I also had a good pep talk – what am I doing, how am I doing it, what my goals are. I find these talks really help my motivation and commitment. The exciting thing yesterday was that I started building in some different and desireable outcomes from being healthy as I get older. Up till now I have been saying that I want to be active in 30 years so that I can play and walk and run with my grandkids. Yesterday I included that I want to be healthy and active as I get older so that I can travel with my man when we have retired. And that thought excites me.

Leave a Reply

