There be progress

I am not sure what happened last week on the scales, whether it was a real number or not… I am just happy to report today that the scales are down, that third number at the front is gone and I am feeling positive, energised and determined.

This morning I weighed in at 97.6kg (214.7 lbs) which is 2.7kg (6 lbs) lighter than last Wednesday. That is a total loss now of 43.3 kg (95.3 lbs). I am still not back at my lowest but I am only 2.5 kg away and now I am confident that I will get back there this month.

I don’t know what happened in the last 5 days with the number box on the floor; because it is only 5 days since my weigh in at the start of the month. But what I can say is that I have done really well food wise and exercise since last Wednesday. This is fact.

I went out for a run last Thursday and it was hard work after not having run for a week. Then on Saturday I ran 5K in 36.08 minutes which is a PB for me. I was stoked. This morning I went running again and it was a hard workout but I did it; 7.09km in 60 minutes with 40 minutes of that running and with some short walking segments and squats thrown in. I also did a 5K walk yesterday around one of the lakes nearby. After a week of cold and rainy weather it was lovely to be out in the sun! The exercise last week felt more balanced because it wasn’t every day and I was eating enough I think to cover for it.

From Wednesday to Sunday I averaged 9100kJ a day which was just over my target. I managed to fit the extra in by eating fruit. I love stone fruit and the peaches and plums are just wonderful right now. I buy several, thinking I have fruit for the week and then need to get more because I have already eaten it all. And I am finding that food planning is working well to give me varied meals which are healthy and tasty.

I am also doing really well on the no-chocolate front. I have not had any chocolate in any form since last Tuesday, so that is 6 days now. I did use the fruit those first couple of days for some extra sweetness and that helped. I also had a bad headache last week from giving up the chocolate and associated sugar, I have not had any biscuits or cake or other sweets either, but the headache passed and I am eating well and am satisfied.

The biggest food challenge of the week was at a birthday party yesterday. I had my snacks before arriving, chewed gum and and drank water. And I did not eat anything while I was there, not even chcolate brownie cake. Fortunately, I have had this brownie in my past and I know how wonderful it is so I did not need to taste it to learn that. (This is a trick I use sometimes at parties. If I have had something before, I don’t need to have it again, I would rather try something new if there is something new than have something that I know; even if that something is really good. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.)

I am saying my positive affirmation frequently and I think it is a good thing for me; I think it is helping with my motivation and general attitude.

And one new thing from last week is that I started reading my text book for the course I am about to start. Last year I decided to start studing nutrition formally. I find it so interesting and it will help me learn more about getting healthy and staying that way. It might be something I could move into career wise but I have now set plans there. I enrolled in course and classes start in March, all online with assignments and exams. I am doing two subjects this semester and I picked up one of the textbooks last week. I started reading and I am enjoying it. I am thinking again about why I eat what I do, about my choices and whether they could be better; what changes I could make to improve my diet. I am comparing my old diet to my new diet as well and I am really encouraged as the changes I have made seem to be very sensible ones. This bodes well for the future.

This coming week I am going to do more of the same. Eat well, plan meals, exercise consistently but not excessively, keep reading and thinking. I also want to cook something new and write it up. It is an age since I have posted a new recipe here here… I will see how the week progresses on that front.

Leave a Reply

