January commitment

My January commitment post is a little late with all the new year/old year musings that made its way here. But I do intend to write a commitment post at the start of each month and a wrap up post at the end of each month for accountability and motivation purposes.

In January I have decided to commit to three Up and Running workouts a week out of the 5 I will do each week. I had thought I might do two a week and then some other running but I was thinking about the 5K course I completed and how I do want to improve my running. Making a commitment to the workouts will get me there. To keep me accountable I have my workouts marked on the whiteboard on the fridge and I cross them off once they are done. That way, at any point in the month I can see how I am travelling; inspiring and motivating all at once.

Foodwise, I am committing to a kJ budget of 9000kJ a day. The way I manage this is that I look at a weeks average rather than each day. This is more than I budgeted in December so it will be interesting to see how I make up that extra 1000. Having chocolate or alcohol every day is not a good way to get those kJ in. But I discovered this week that I am just a little hungrier on my UAR workout days and 9000 or a little over is the right amount. On non UAR days, between 8000 and 8500 is enough. It looks like this will average out quite nicely.

And for my head, this month I will read at least one book on the theme of self acceptance. I don’t know which one yet. Honestly, this is the one I am least likely to do so I better go and look for a book tonight. I have a kindle so it will be easy to pick something up without having to leave the house.

Given my excesses of December, I expect a good weightloss in January – maybe 5kg. But I am not aiming for anything specific. I know that if I do what I have said here, it will happen and if I don’t do it… well I know what will happen then, too. The difference for me here is that the weightloss is second to exercise, managing food and doing the thoughtwork.

2 responses to “January commitment

  1. Kate I love reading some of your thoughts on here, in addition to your running diary on the forums.
    I don’t know what exactly you’re looking for in a self-acceptance book, but my most powerful discovery in that sense in 2011 was Brene Brown. I first came across her in a TED talk online (a 20 minute talk, and worth a listen if you haven’t seen it), and then downloaded her two books to my kindle (I think there is even the capability with kindles to ‘lend’ someone a book for 14 days?? Never done it, but send me a message if you want to try it). Her work made me start to be a lot kinder to myself, something that I was already working on but not doing very well at!
    TED talk: http://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_on_vulnerability.html
    Best wishes for all your January and 2012 goals 🙂

    • Thanks Jo! I will look her up. I have seen a couple TED talks and have been impressed so that is something I will follow up. I was just writing this morning about what I am looking for in this space, having realised that I hadn’t really articulated what I was wanting to achieve! Your comment is excellent timing 🙂

Leave a Reply

