the nuts and bolts of it – food

At a weight of 65kg (143 lbs), I would need to eat about 9000 kJ (2100 cal) a day to maintain that weight, doing moderate exercise 3-5 times a week.

65kg is in the top half of my healthy BMI weight range and gives me a 5 kg buffer before I hit the overwieght category. It is the weight I am aiming for. I don’t know what it will look like or feel like and I have no timeframe for getting there. But in my head, that is a good aim.

At my current weight of about 95kg (210 lbs) and doing moderate exercise 3-5 times a week, I need to eat about 9000 kJ to lose 0.5kg a week.

I am going to start this year by setting my kj ‘budget’ at 9000kJ a day. There are a couple of reasons for this:
– I want to know what it is like to eat that much over a period of time, like a month. If this is going to be my food budget in maintenance I want to think about what that means in a practical sense.
– I am aiming for a weight loss rate of between 0.5kg and 1kg a week and as I plan to do moderate exercise 5-6 times a week this is a good food budget to help me with that.

I am going to start tracking again on Tuesday. I know it is the new year and all, and I know that I usually start on Mondays but given our plans tomorrow, the actual food tracking will start on Tuesday. There is a nice symmetry to that. Tuesday is the 3rd of Jan and I started last year on the 3rd of Jan. So, Tuesday 3rd of Jan it is. I will keep this food budget in place till the end of January and review then. I know what a normal day of food looked like at 8000kJ and I know how to build that to 8500kJ. I am going to start with that and then build in the additional 500kJ.

However, I am not waiting till Tuesday to start exercise. I am dressed in my gear and as soon as the boy goes down for his nap I am heading out to try a new 5km route. I am walking it today to break in my new running shoes (*squee*) and because it is about 30’C outside and also because I am doing a running workout tomorrow. I am looking foward to a nice walk to bring in the new year. I will think of my running friends and send them good wishes for their planned runs today.

More about the nuts and bolts of exercise later….

Leave a Reply

