I am a runner

I went running again at lunch today and today was better. My legs did not feel heavy or feel like they were on the verge of cramping. And I ran the whole second leg of the workout without modifying! I was so thrilled when I got to the end! I had to push myself and it was hard and I was so happy that I did! The two guys doing stretches at the same place I stopped smiled with me and made some good comment about my run – I can’t even remember what it was. But I was beaming with pride and I was breathing hard and they shared my success with me.

Today’s times 53 minutes, first interval: 2.1km in 13.52 minutes (6.36 min/km); 5 minute breather, second interval: 2,1 km in 15.01 minutes (7.09 min/km).

One funny thing today was that as I was doing my stretches after warmup I noticed a girl go past. She was thin and beautiful and dressed in good looking sports gear (I was in some more ordinary gear today). My mind mused – she is a runner; one day I will look like that – and then I thought about my running plan for today and was distracted as she walked away. I started off running. At about the 5 min mark I noticed her up ahead. She was still walking. She was a long way off but slowly, I caught up. She wasn’t running; today, she was not a runner. And I thought – I am a runner and I look like a runner because I am running; I should really just be me – and then I overtook her. And I kept running. I reached my end point for that interval and I stood and breathed and cooled down in the breeze and enjoyed the sensation of my body slowing. My body is strong and amazing and it helps me run. And then I started running again.

This is my journey. I should worry a whole lot less about what other people think and concentrate on my own plan.

Having put some thought into training plans for next year I am now thinking about how to record my training. I need to be able to do it easily but I also want to be able to look at the last month and say that I have run/walked so many kms or that I have met my goals with strength training. I think a spreadsheet might work. I can use conditional formatting to help organise the different workouts, I can keep a week or a fortnight in google docs but have the master spreadsheet on my computer so that I can do the stats. The reason for having a smaller version is so that I can access it and update it on my phone rather than keeping a paper version or keeping notes to update the version on the computer at home. I have not been consistent with recording my workouts in the last couple of months and I am short changing myself on the motivation that comes from having it all there. So, I will find a way to keep track. Another little project to work on 🙂

2 responses to “I am a runner

  1. A great way to track your progress is on the website http://www.dailymile.com.. It is a website for runners and other sports minded people. I just started using it and find it quite useful.

Leave a Reply

