Christmas day meal planning

I am thinking about Christmas day food. I want it to be special, I want to have the traditional things that are important to us for Christmas. I want it to be healthy and I don’t want to eat too much.

I discovered a few years ago that one important Christmas food for me is mince pies. I discovered that the year we didn’t have any. I may or may not be making them. One pro for buying them is that I will only buy 6 and once they are gone they are gone. If I make them, we might end up with 12 or 18…. I think it is safer to have fewer in the house.

Talking with my man, he has identified prawns as an important festive food; prawns in lemon and piri piri cooked over the BBQ. This is going to be the centre of our Christmas day lunch. I am going to pair it with a light salad and some bread.

For dinner, we are going to a friends place. There will be roast meats and vegetables. I have offered to bring a mixed steamed green salad that we can have either warm or cold. It will be asparagus, snowpeas, beans, sugar snap peas, broccoli scattered with a zesty garlic (gluten free) breadcrumb topping. It will be fresh and light and the breadcrumbs will make it special. I am also bringing a dessert option… well two dessert options. I am making small meringues with nuts and chocolate and a chocolate hedgehog roll we can cut in thin slices. By bringing small desserts, I can have a little and stop. That is the plan, anyway.

And for special breakfast, we will have a supreme fried sandwich. This is a little bit of a joke in our house. A fried sandwich with ham, cheese and mustard is called a Mr Fried Sandwich. We use small pieces of bread, lite cheese and lean ham and no butter – it is fried in a dry pran. One version is with a fried egg, another version has relish instead of mustard, one version has blue cheese. This is an easy breakfast I can account for with my kJ. For Christmas we are going for a fried sandwich with special Christmas ham, Jarlsberg cheese, fresh eggs, herbed mustard and special bread. It will be the Majestic Fried Sandwich! And, it will keep me going till lunch!

All meals with have protein. Lunch will be low kJ and lite. Dinner I will avoid the carbs and stick with green veg and roast meat. At some point there will be mince pies.

I also want to go walking. I might need to get up early for it but I need to fit it in next Sunday. And for Boxing day.

For our family, Christmas is about joining together with the people we love. Some of that happens over a meal and so there are special foods. This year, I want to make it special but remember the concept ‘healthy for life’ and build that into the day. I can do both; they are not mutually exclusive.

Leave a Reply

