Roast Banana Ice Cream

Fall down, wallow on the ground for a little while, try to pick self up again. That is what I am doing at the moment… picking myself up. Why and so on and so forth is another story and I am not yet up enough to elaborate. But I wanted to say that falling down happens, it is not all easy and happy. If I don’t write when I am there then it will never get posted…

So. Not doing great but doing ok. I have decided that chocolate won’t actually help me feel better. I remembered before I started. That is not to say I won’t start later. But I am looking for other things to amuse me till bed time which are uplifting and affirming.

Cooking is one of those things for me. I get captured in the idea of the recipe. I want to know how it tastes and smells. How it looks. I want to see if the method works well or if there are ways I think I can make it better. I want to think about the next time I make it and how I will change the recipe. Cooking takes me from where I am into a world that is fun; where I can play. It is not about the eating (although that does come into it at some point).

I came across a recipe in the week that I had wanted to try some time ago. I had once clipped it, stored it and then promptly forgot about it. And then I found it again. Roast Banana Ice Cream. I think frozen bananas are great. They have a creamy texture and are smooth and sweet. Roast Banana Ice Cream should have the same creaminess but also that caramel depth that comes from the roasting. As the bananas were roasting I could smell the flavours develop and it made me smile.

The original recipe was simple enough, take your bananas, cut them up, add some brown sugar and butter and roast till soft. Blend with some milk, vanilla, a pinch of salt. Chill then churn in an ice cream maker. You don’t want too much milk or you lose the creaminess of the banana. But if I used yoghurt instead that might work. Or what about coconut milk? But I don’t want the fat. I could use light evap milk flavoured with coconut essence… and so on. I think the first time round I will keep it simple and I can extrapolate next time. I have summer ahead of me… if it works, it might become an easy and healthy dessert option for hot summer days.

Roast Banana Ice Cream
3 ripe bananas
1 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs butter or margarine (I used margarine)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbs lemon juice
pinch salt
2 cups reduced fat milk

Cut the bananas into 2 cm chunks, place in a oven proof dish with the sugar and margarine and bake for 30 minutes at 400’F, mixing once half way through (our oven has the temps in F which is a bit frustrating since the rest of the country is in C…).

Scrape the banana and sticky mess into a blender (or a bowl if you are using a stick blender). Add the remaining ingredients and blend till smooth. Chill in the fridge 8 hours or overnight and then churn in an icecream maker (or throw into a shallow container in the freezer for two hours, whisk through, back in the freezer for 2 hours, whisk again and then freeze. It won’t be as smooth but it will still be tasty.)

Total kJ 2976 which is just under 500kJ if you divide it into 6 serves. I don’t know yet how many serves we will get out of it… At least 4 for sure which is 744 kJ.

I haven’t finished yet so I can’t tell you what it is like. The mixture is currently in the fridge, chilling. I used to make custard based ice creams once and I like that this banana/milk mixture has an almost custard like consistency- I was a little worried that it might be too thin but I don’t think it is. The mixture tastes like banana and lemon and sugar. It is nice and gentle. And it made me smile again.

I will edit this post tomorrow night after I churn the ice cream and have some for dessert. But given the taste and texture right now, I am hopeful.

And I feel better. Which was the point.

Edit: Amazing flavour but churning failure. I was a little too enthusiastic and tried to churn the icecream this morning. The bowl was not cold enough and it did not work so I put the whole lot in the freezer thinking it would freeze quickly. I discovered tonight that my freezer is not cold enough… There were huge ice crystals in the mix. We had some for dessert anyway and my boy loved it šŸ™‚ I will try again but really aim for a smooth creamy texture… But it was delicious. Well worth trying again.

Leave a Reply

