4km fun run!

Today I had my second 4km event. I signed up for a 2 event series in September and the first event was in mid-September. I was in the fun walk for that event. Today I was signed up for the fun run.

I did not have a good few days leading up to it. My eating was all over the place due to stress on several fronts. My sleeping was also not as good as I had hoped. But I woke up this morning and the weather was clear. That was a relief! Yesterday was raining and there are showers forecast for today.

I had a light breakfast at about 6.30. And water. We left the house at 7.25 and drove down to the lake where the race was being held. We left home a little later than I had wanted but that usually happens with the toddler! We got there, I picked up my timing piece and attached it to the top of my shoe. I pinned on my race number. I used the rental facilities. There was not enough time for a good warm up. I need to remember that for next time. But I did some warmups to get my heart rate lifted and the blood pumping and then gently stretched.

I had forgotton my music this morning. I don’t usually run with music but I missed it today.

I developed my race plan from the advice Julia Jones, the running coach from Up and Running gave one of the other girls. Run the first 2kms then I needed to walk 1 min then run to the end of that km, then if I needed to walk 1 min and run to the finish. I made sure I had my watch on today. I was hoping to run the whole distance but was very happy to have a good plan in case that was not going to happen.

It was a beautiful morning. I was excited to be milling at the start point. There were some familiar faces from last time. We had a couple minutes and then the horn blew and we were all off. I realised as we started that I had not warmed properly and that I needed to pace myself. I reminded myself that it was my race and I did not have to compete with anyone. I ran past my man and little boy, I ran past my mum who was loudly cheering. And then off we all went. I concentrated on my breathing just trying to settle into the race.

The first km was a little hard, I checked my watch and it only took 6min! My fastest 1km time ever! I started slowing down. This was where I wanted the music to distract me. The sun was in my face and I was trying to run but I did not feel like I had found my comfortable pace. The second km got harder but I did get to the end of it running. My second km took 7.10 min which for me is about my average pace. I walked for 1min and I am glad I did. The third km I was tiring. My breathing was ok but my legs got heavier. Again I was missing my music. But coming back the sun was not in my face which was good. Third km time was 7.50 and I think that was great given the min walking. Again I walked at the start of the 4th but I timed it and I was only walking for a min. I knew the end was close, I knew the 500m point and I knew when I came round a certain corner I only had 200m left. I started pushing myself then, not to take longer strides but just to move my legs faster. And my breathing coped and it was hard but I got there. My time for that last km was 7.48 with a total time of 28.43. That is almost 2 mins less than 6 weeks ago where I ran the first and last kms and walked the middle two.

My mum was so proud – she got a little teary! And I felt good. My man was also very proud. He said that I looked better finishing this race than I did the last one. That is cool.

I look so much leaner than I did 6 weeks ago! It was a real surprise to see how good I look. My man was right! My breathing and heartrate also recovered more quickly than last time.

I am tired now. My legs are tired. I am happy. I am really pleased with the improvement in how far I can run, in my time and how I look.

I am looking forward to the 5K next weekend which I am running on my own as part of the UpandRunning 5K course. Based on today, I don’t think I am ready to run the whole 5K. But I also know that I am not far off that. And I have training plans that will help me get there. This course has rocked! I know that I wanted to run before I started but I had no idea how to go about it. This course has really provided me with the tools to get there and I love that Shauna and Julia have resources for available for once the course is over 🙂

Hurrah! On to week 8 of the course! On to the 5K next weekend! And a rest day, tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

