Rounding Up

Sleep is a wonderful thing. I am feeling more like myself. There is still some stress and sadness but I am no longer blue. And I have come through this partly because I kept exercising which was good for my head and I did not overeat. Mentally and physically, my body came through feeling alright. On this occasion, I did not let the old ways rule my actions. I don’t think I have been as aware before of my choice not to indulge in emotional/comfort eating. I must remember that I can choose better ways. It won’t happen on every occasion but I have really started forming new habits and patterns if under stress I can choose a better way.

I did very well last week. I met all of my mini goals. Setting the mini goals was just what I needed to really bring my focus back and it worked.
– I exercised every day, averaging 73 mins a day which is a step up for me. I don’t always do my exercise in one block, I include my two 15 min walks from the carpark to work in that because I choose to park that far away to increase my exercise
– I walked up the stairs at work.
– I ate according to my food plan, averaging at 8090kJ a day.
– I did not have any alcohol.

My stats today are
Starting weight: 140.9 kg (310 lbs)
Today’s weight: 95.5 kg (210.1 lbs)
Lost since last weigh in (2 weeks ago): 1kg (2.2 lbs)
Total lost: 45.4 kg (99.9 lbs)

Today, I am rounding up. 99.9 lbs – I am calling it 100. I have lost 100 lbs. And I am so proud of that. My next goal is close by – I am looking forward to another kg gone which takes me to a loss of 1/3 my start weight.

But also, today, I ran 2kms for the first time and I came in at 14.26 minutes. I am thrilled that I can run 2km and that I came in under 15. I was so excited. Towards the end, my legs were getting a little weary but my breathing was steady. After the 2km run, I had a 5 min break followed by another 1km run. And I completed the 1km jogging – I did not have to slow to a walk. My time was a little slower but I did it. I had an awesome workout this morning and I felt so much better for it.

My day was already excellent by 8 am! And amazingly I had some great workstuff happen and so it wasn’t all downhill from there.

This week I will have some interesting challenges. There is a work lunch, a dinner out, my mother coming to stay and a 4km fun run on Sunday. I plan to exercise everyday again and I will aim for 60min in total a day. I will do my running training on Wed and Fri which leaves me a rest day before the fun run (rest meaning no running not no exercise). I hope to run most of the 4km in the fun run. My exercise will offset some of the social occasions. But even with the social occasions I will choose wisely. I have already pre-ordered lunch for Friday. I have lots of tricks up my sleeve to keep on track; I have started accepting that no alcohol is one of my best strategies for staying on track. I have goals in front of me to help me stay focussed. I won’t need to round up for long.

Leave a Reply

