An excellent week

I have had a really good week, an excellent week, so far. I have exercised every day and I took the stairs at work as well. I have not had any chocolate, I had 2 biscuits at a games night that I had planned into my day but other than that, I have had no sweet treats. Last night I really wanted some chocolate but instead had mango, yoghurt and some almonds. It was filling, there was some sweetness but also the crunchiness of the almond. Another good thing was that it took time to make and eat; much more so than grabbing the chocolate out of the cupboard. And I got to feel smug about it.

I have liked having very simple straightforward goals this week. I know what my plan is for the day, I follow the plan, I mentally tick the things on my list. I feel good in my body.

And because I was feeling good in myself yesterday, I went to the shops at lunch and popped into a clothes shop that I like. About 6 weeks ago I tried on a dress with them but didn’t buy it because I couldn’t justify the expense. Yesterday, the same dress was marked down by 75%. I bought it. It is a summer daytime dress and completely different to what I am used to wearing; it is fitted, sleeveless, bright colours, horizontal stripes. It fitted 6 weeks ago (just) and now it feels and looks fabulous.

This week it has been about one day at a time and today all I have to think about is making healthy choices today. That is achievable.

2 responses to “An excellent week

    • Self control in relation to the chocolate substitute or in general? Finding something else instead of having chocolate was new, that was why I was excited about it. Usually I just have some chocolate and don’t think any further. Small amounts of chocolate were something that had crept into my days and I wanted stop that before habits formed. It worked on this occasion, it won’t work on every occasion and sometimes, I will take the chocolate 🙂 For me right now I am trying to make it thoughtful eating rather than habit or unconscious eating. Which is why finding a substitute was a big deal for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

