Healthy for Life

I decided I needed some simple goals for this week to help me get back on track.

Last week was strange. I had the excitement and emotion of reaching a goal I had worked so long for. Part of my head says ‘Done! Now you can stop paying attention to it all.’ I need to get over that. I was not well and so my eating got screwed as I tried to listen to my body and adapt but I overcompensated. On Saturday night I went to a party and had some alcohol and I ate food that wasn’t good for me. Then I got home and kept eating. Sunday was not that much better. While my exercise was a little down because I had been unwell, I did get some good exercise in Thursday-Sunday.

It will take a couple days for my body to clean out from the excess sugar and fat on the weekend and I know that I will have some cravings and headaches until it does. So, this week, I need some straightforward simple goals to focus on.

1. Exercise every day
2. Drink enough water
3. Walk up the stairs at work at least twice a day
4. Stick to my food plan
5. No alcohol this week

‘Healthy for life’ is a mentality or personality aspect I am trying to develop to replace ‘Fat Girl’. When I think about what it means, it is not about what happened last week or what happens next week. It is about a decade from now. It is about living with my family into the future. But it is also about today – the choices I make today with regard to food and exercise. If I make healthy choices today then that is success. It is about every day and ensuring most of my choices are healthy ones. It is about each individual choice. This will become the backdrop to my life now that 40 weeks is up.

Today will be a good day. I have done my Up and Running workout, I parked 20 min walk from work this morning and so I know I have another 20 min walk this afternoon. I have my food sorted for today. I will drink water. I will make healthy choices today and tomorrow will be easier.

2 responses to “Healthy for Life

  1. Makes you understand why they say salt and sugar can be addictive. I have read that if you are going to a party to eat a healthy meal before. That way you will not be tempted to gorge on unhealthy snacks to fill your belly.

  2. Nods… indeed! And especially with a little bit of alcohol, resistance really is diminished. I have another party this weekend, but this time I have a game plan đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

