40 weeks – done and dusted

My plan is a 40 week plan. I know what 40 weeks is like, it has a start and a stop and what I have lost in previous efforts was achieved in a similiar time frame but then I got lost. My 40 weeks starts Jan 3rd on a Monday. It will take me through to the first weekend in October. In 40 weeks I want to lose about 35kg. That puts me just above 100kg and is where I got caught last time. So I know I can get that far.
From my first post

Today is my 41st weigh-in and marks the end of my 40 weeks.

Starting weight: 140.9 kg (310 lbs)
Today’s weight: 96.5 kg (212.5 lbs)
Total lost: 44.4 kg (97.5 lbs)
% start weight lost: 31.5%

I was a size 24. I am now a size 16. (These are AU sizes – sizes everywhere are different. How confusing!!! But the actual number is not the main thing, the difference between the two numbers is the point!)

I was exhausted after a 40 min walk. I now am training to run a 5 K in 4 weeks!!!

I was uncomfotable in my body, I was self concious and ashamed of my size. I am now amazed that my legs can move me the way they do; I have curves, I can see my muscles move. My work pass now looks like I reacted to something I ate; my face is puffed up!!! (I have to grab a photo of that before I hand it back. I could do a comparison between my old and new work passes)

I used to be the biggest person in the room, didn’t matter where I was, it was usually the case. I am not the fat girl anymore. Now, I am just an ordinary looking girl. And I love that!!

I used to eat all the time, from boredom, from stress, just because something was there. And I ate too much refined sugar/fat. And my body felt sluggish and awkward because I was always eating. I now eat a much better variety of foods, with more fruit and veg, less fat and sugar. I feel hungry between meals – that is a good thing. Before I rarely got to the point of hunger between meals and I use my hunger now to guide me. I am satisfied with what I am eating; the amount and the variety. I have energy because my body is fueled with foods which give it what it needs.

The only before after comparison that is not favourable is that I have been cold all winter because I keep my body in a kJ deficit. And you know, that is one I can live with!!!

I have saved my own life this year.

3 responses to “40 weeks – done and dusted

  1. Seriously Kate I have tears in my eyes reading this. 40 weeks… wow… what an amazing gift (involving mega hard work and determination!) you have given yourself. CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂

  2. Well done to you! You have done amazingly well. Enjoy your new body and health 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Little Inspiration « Nuggets of Health

Leave a Reply

