Miso Grilled Fish with Steamed Greens

Finally! A new recipe that is not soup!!!

My sister and I both have the CSIRO Total WellBeing Diet books and the recipe book. We will occasionally recommend recipes to each other. While staying with her on the weekend she said that she loved one of the recipes for its simplicity and taste. I had glanced at this recipe but because it seemed similar to a chicken recipe I already cook regularly I had not made it.

Inspired by my sister I decided to cook her recommendation tonight.

The recipe calls for mirin and miso, two ingredients that I had not used before. Miso is a fermented soy bean spread with an earthy aroma. It reminded me a little of vegemite or mushrooms. Mirin is sweet rice wine only used in cooking. I found both of these in my local Asian grocer.

I also don’t cook alot of fish; it is not something that we ate often when we were growing up and it is not something that comes to mind when I am planning meals. I am trying and I have one fish recipe that I will cook regularly (ie once a month). I will also use prawns reasonably regularly.

It was easy and it was tasty. Not really like the chicken recipe I cook at all so I am glad that I have tried it. I didn’t think it was fantastic but for a low fat, high protein meal it was great. And I would make it again. Next time, I will try some different white fish fillets to see if that changes the dish. I felt I needed something on the side and we had some boiled rice left over from last night. I sautéed some onion, garlic and ginger in a little oil, added the rice and then some low salt soy. I packed the hot gingery rice in a small mold and tipped it onto the plates to try a presentation trick I had once seen. And it worked well.

Miso Grilled Fish with Steamed Greens

Serves 2
1 tbs white miso
1 tbs mirin
1 tsp olive oil
400g white fish fillets (I used ling)
Selection of Green Vegetables to serve two (Pakchoy, Bok choy, Garlic Chives, Asparagus, Snowpeas)

Mix the miso, mirin and olive oil. Spread the mixture over the fish fillets.

Preheat the grill to high. Place the fish fillets under the grill for 5-7 minutes.

Steam the vegetables until tender.

Serve the grilled fish over the vegetables, sprinkled with a little extra mirin and some low salt soy.

Nutritional Information (not including rice):
Total: 2350 kJ, 8.9 g fat, 89.3 g protein, 20.1 g carbohydrate, 10.5 g fibre
per serve: 1175 kJ, 4.5 g fat, 44.7 g protein, 10.1 g carbohydrate, 5.3 g fibre

Leave a Reply

