Rush

Official 4km race time: 30.24 minutes 😀

I jogged the first full km and the last full km. It was going to be too hard to work out the 500m lengths and when we started I just wanted to go. It has tricky to not run during the middle stretch. I wanted to go but I also really wanted to finish strongly. Somewhere along the route I calculated that I was expecting a time of about 32 minutes; that would be two 7 min kms jogging and 9min/km for the middle two kms. I was hoping for something about 32 minutes. That last km was amazing. I started off slowly because I was not sure how I would go, having already jogged 1km at the start. With 500m left to go one of the race officials cheered me on from his spot on the route. I got teary, I knew at that point I would finish well but I could not let the emotions go at that point! Then I rounded the corner and could see the finish. I started running. I had been jogging but I decided to finish as strong as I could. And it felt completely different to the jogging. A little like moving from a trot to a canter when horse riding, I guess. It was amazing. I loved it. And my man was there with my little boy. And I ran through the finish line and ran to them and I had done what I set out to do. I had run half of my 4km fun run. And I saw the time on the race clock at about 30 minutes and I was so thrilled!

I don’t have much going on in my life that gives me a buzz of satisfaction; that really intense high. New relationships are ‘buzzy’; or a passion for something can do that. When I work for something hard or challenging and achieve it, sometimes I get that feeling. I have enjoyed my exercise before, it helps give me some time, it helps my head work through stuff. I like feeling strong and like I am doing something for my health. I always assumed that I was getting the endorphin rush. But in the last couple of weeks, it has been more. I ran up the stairs at work on Friday after my walk, just to see if I could. I ran up to the third floor. And it was great! And crazy!!! I mean, who does that??? And today, it was cold and showers were forecast and I got dressed and went out!! Crazy! And I loved it 😀 I loved being part of the event.

I have 5 weeks till the next event. I am doing the same distance on the same route but I am registered for the run and not the walk event. I want to run the whole 4km. I have a time to beat, some new goals. I have Up and Running training to take me there.

I am tired now. But I had a lot of fractured sleep last week so that is not surprising. But more than just tired, my legs are tired, my back is tired and I am happy. I want to do it again.

Leave a Reply

