Zucchini and Corn Soup

I won a Morphy Richards Soup Maker a month ago and it arrived on Monday. Today I made some soup that is just wonderful.

The Soup Maker – I had some problems on Monday night. We did not get off to a smooth start. Actually, the soup I made was very smooth. The problem was I was not using enough stock and the pumpkin kept catching and burning on the base. It was frustrating. But I worked out what was happening and today I gave the soup maker a second chance.

It is remarkably simple to use. You throw in about 600g of chopped up soup ingredients (so far I have used roast pumpkin; pea and ham; zucchini and corn), add 500mL stock, flavourings, put the lid on and press ‘smooth’ or ‘chunky’ and soon you have 3-4 serves of soup. If you need more soup, you can make a second batch straight away. It is easy to clean with a wipe over the lid and a rinse and wipe of the body. If the ingredients catch and burn it is a little trickier to clean but not that bad now that I think about it. When you select ‘smooth’ the blender function works well and the soup comes out smooth. I have not yet made a chunky soup but I will be looking for something to try on the weekend.

Today I made pea and ham soup for lunch and it was easy, great and I was happy with it. Then I made something for lunch tomorrow. We had some home made chicken stock in the freezer that had citrus, ginger and garlic tones. I had some zucchini in the fridge which I also wanted to use. So, I decided to throw in some corn, soy and sweet chilli sauce. I snuck a taste at the end. It is very good. I am really looking forward to lunch tomorrow!

Zucchini and Corn Soup
300 g zucchini, shopped
300g frozen corn kernals
1 tbs sweet chilli sauce
1 tbs salt reduced soy
2 tsp minced garlic
2 tsp minced ginger
500 mL stock (chicken or vegetable)
1 shallot, finely sliced

Combine the ingredients in the soupmaker, press ‘smooth’. Serve when finished, garnished with finely sliced shallots.

Or, combine the ingredients in a saucepan, bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 20 minutes. Process in a food processor or with a stick blender till smooth. Serve, garnished with the shallots.

Nutritional information
total: 2226 kJ, 7.6 g fat, 19.7 g protein, 81.5 g carb, 14.1 g fibre
per serve (3 serves) 742 kJ, 2.5g fat, 6.6g protein, 27 g carb, 4.7 g fibre

Leave a Reply

