Spring has Sprung

This morning I got up and was going to do my DVD workout. And then I looked outside. The sky was just starting to lighten. It looked beautiful. I changed my mind and let myself quietly out the door into the cool morning. I have not been on early morning walks since mid May. But there is enough light in the mornings now and today it was not too cold. The clouds changed from grey to pink to white as the sun came up. I walked up the hill and did what used to be my hour walk in 45 minutes. I did some jogging but it was a little too cold for me – my arms were not moving smoothly and my breathing did not level out. I have missed my Monday morning walks 🙂 It was beautiful and affirming.

I managed to reign in my eating back to my target kJ range in the last week. I did some really good workouts last week as well. I am very pleased that my stress has had minimal impact on my weight loss journey.

Starting weight: 140.9 kg (310 lbs)
Today’s weight: 103.3 kg (227 lbs)
Gain since last weigh in (2 weeks ago): 0.1kg (0.2 lbs)
Total lost: 37.6 kg (82.7 lbs)

I have 8 weeks to go until I complete the commitment I made to myself at the end of last year. 40 weeks. I was aiming for 40 weeks of healthy living; and now I have 8 left. This last month has been a hard one for me. I have already exceeded the goals I set myself at the beginning of the year but I don’t think that I can make my revised goals given the last few weeks. I have decided to not worry about the goals. I have a lot of very exciting weightloss milestones coming up – loss of 40kg, weighing less than 100kg (with a loss of 41kg), having lost 30% of my start weight (with a loss of 42.3 kg), loss of 45kg and loss of 100lbs (46kg). These milestones are very motivating for me and I am looking forward to marking them off. Actually, seeing the scales get closer to 100 is something I am not sure I quite believed would happen when I started out. But it is happening and it will continue. I also have some exercise motivation in the form of my Up and Running online running course. It starts in 3 weeks and will take me over the 40 week mark. So, I am not going to worry about the goals themselves because they will happen if I keep track of my eating and keep up the exercise. This is my focus for the next 8 weeks. Eat well, exercise consistently.

Leave a Reply

