Turkey Kofta Curry

*Edit: the original recipe in this post had some mistakes in it. Apologies. They have now been corrected*

I bought a new cookbook last week, the Woman’s Weekly Cook It Freeze It. I was wanting something new to flick through and it has the nutritional info in it so I get a better idea of the kJ than from just looking at the ingredients. I like being able to freeze meals because it helps so much with getting through the week and all of the recipes in this book have instructions regarding when to freeze it in relation to the method and how to continue after defrosting.

I made a Sulatana Butter Cake from this book last week and it was wonderful. It was also high in butter, sugar and flour so the recipe is not featuring here. But, I do have hopes for other recipes in the book. On the weekend I made the Kofta Curry. Kofta meatballs in a mildly spicey sauce is so wonderful on a winter’s night. I adapted the recipe (because I can’t resist doing that) to leave out the chilli so the toddler can eat it and I increased the mince because I bought pre-packaged mince and I would rather use it all than have a small amount left over. Frying the kofte was fiddly and time consuming. I had to be really gentle in moving them so the didn’t break apart. It got me thinking that baking the kofte might be an improvement, I might try that next time.

We had the Kofta Curry for dinner tonight. It was really nice. I thought the spices balanced really well together and maybe it was worth the fiddly and time consuming effort to brown them kofte after all. And the toddler loved it! This is something that I would happily make again. I was hungry tonight and completely forgot to take a photo of how it turned out. I might try to do that next time. I have another meal stored in the freezer.

Kofta Curry (Serves 5)

1 kg chicken or turkey mince (I used turkey mince)
1 tbs minced ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/3 cup chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves
2 tbs minced garlic
1 tbs olive oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 tbs sweet paprika (or use 1 fresh long chilli, finely chopped)
2 tsp ground coriander seed
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
4 medium tomatos, coarsly chopped
2 cups chicken stock
1/2 cup additional chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves
1 tsp garam masala

Combine the mince, garlic, cinnamon, 1/3 cup chopped coriander leaves and half garlic and mix till well combined. Divide into 5 portions and then divide each portion into 5 kofta roughly 1 tbs in size to give 25 kofta meatballs. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Add 1/2 tbs olive oil into a large frying pan. Add the onion and fry for 5 minutes until soft. Add the garlic, paprika, coriander seed, cumin and tumeric. Fry for another 5 minutes. Add the tomato and fry for 5 minutes until the tomato is soft. Add the stock and simmer for 15 minutes until slightly thickened.

Pour 1/2 tbs of the olive oil into another frying pan. Pan fry the kofta, in batches, until browned. Add the kofta to the sauce and simmer, uncovered, about 10 minutes, or until the kofta are cooked through.

(If freezing, transfer the kofta and sauce into containers of 1 or 2 serves each and seal. Freeze for up to 3 months. Defrost overnight in the fridge. Reheat in a saucepan until hot and continue.)

Stir in the remaining coriander and garam masala.

Serve with rice or naan bread.

Serves 5

Nutritional info (for turkey mince)
total: 8593kJ, 119.1 g fat, 191.7 g protein, 57.9 g carb, 10.6 g fibre
per serve: 1718 kJ, 23.8 g fat, 38.3 g protein, 11.6 g carb, 2.1 g fibre

3 responses to “Turkey Kofta Curry

  1. this recipe is so messed up. I got the ingredients… didn’t realize “onion” was one of them until i started to cook it. Then, where does the tomato get added? I had to infer this. And you have coriander leaves listed twice in the ingredients but have it being added to the mixture only once. I really wish I hadn’t stumbled on this page… was hoping to try turkey kofta curry BUT i have no idea if I’m even close to having it right.

    • Hey Joel. I am sorry that you paid for my errors with this recipe. I will go in and edit the recipe so that it doesn’t happen again.

  2. Thank you for fixing it. I might try it again.

Leave a Reply

