Vegie Lentil Soup with Rhubarb

I have started buying a magazine called Australian Healthy Food Guide. There are several things I like about it. It is A5 size so fits in your bag really easily, they reference articles with scientific journal references, the recipes have the nutritional info there and there is usually one or two things every month I want to try out. I will subscribe but maybe next month; I am holding out for a better subscription offer.

This month there are articles on Pre-diabetes, Dietary Deficiancies and a Tummy Trouble Shooting Guide which contains a guide to poo. The In Season segment lists Rhubarb and Mushrooms and gives some info and four ideas for using each.

I was intrigued by the lentil soup which used rhubarb. I was so curious that I rushed with the toddler to the markets this morning to get the rhubarb so I could make the soup for lunch. I really liked the soup but my man did not; well he is not a fan of celery and I forget that. But it means I get the leftovers for lunch đŸ™‚ It is warm and filling and there is a little sweetness from the celery and carrot. And it is low in kilojoules. I served it with reduced fat cheese on turkish bread.

Vegie Lentil Soup with Rhubarb

1 tsp olive oil
2 cups finely chopped carrot (285g)
2 cups finely chopped celery (250g)
1 1/2 cups finely chopped onion (120g)
2 cups finely chopped rhubarb (230g)
1 tin brown lentils (200g drained)
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (15g)
4 cups water
2 tsp vegetable stock powder

Add the oil to a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the carrot, celery and onion, cook for three minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the rhubarb and cook for a further 3 minutes. Add the lentils, parsley, water and stock powder. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 20 minutes. Allow to cool slightly and blend with a stick blender or in a food processor.

Serves 4

nutritional info per serve:
465 kJ, 1.5g fat, 6.2 g protein, 13.8 g carb, 8 g fibre

Leave a Reply

