25 weeks, 175 days, 525 meals

I am not surprised that after all this time I am still committed and positive about the healthy lifestyle path that I have chosen because I have clear short term and long term goals and a plan that I have built and fits my day-to-day life. But, then again, I am a little surprised that I am still committed and positive! There have been alot of changes to my food, my exercise and my self talk. I have been tracking my food and exercise for 175 days and it is not a chore (most of the time). Perhaps one of the reasons for my continued commitment is that I am really focussed on today and this week rather than trying to focus on this year. This year is too big, I can’t jump that far at once but each day is a small step and I can manage this day, this next meal.

In the week just past, I focussed on bringing my food back down to about 8200kJ a day and I averaged out at 8212kJ so I am really happy with that. A couple of days were over, a couple spot on and a couple under. I dropped the extras that had crept back in – like a hot milky drink before going to bed and/or some chocolate. There were a couple of nights where I did brush my teeth earlier as a tactic to not have anything else before bed. I also made sure that I checked how I was going before I snacked in the afternoon; that way I was ahead rather than trying to catch up. And I cooked some new things in the last week; it was good to do. I like food and cooking and I start craving treats if I don’t try new new things regularly.

Exercise wise I was also more consistent, getting in just under 5 hours over six days with two lots of resistance training. I had hoped to do more resistance training yesterday but I needed to do some housework because it was starting to bug me but I did get 30 mins cardio in. We all went on an afternoon walk. I think that I made a good call on that.

And so, this weeks stats are:
Starting weight (3/1/2011): 140.9 kg (310 lbs)
Todays weight (27/6/2011) 107.4 kg (236.3 lbs)
Loss this week: 1.6 kg (3.5 lbs)
Total loss: 33.5 kg (73.7 lbs)

This week brings me up to 26 weeks. Half a year! This week also brings me to 2/3 of the way through my 40 week commitment. I will do a wrap of the middle third of the plan next week.

Challenges? I want to get in exercise every day. Even with another possible day trip this weekend I am going to get in at least 10 minutes every day, aiming for 5 hours in total. To quote someone: ‘JUST DO IT’. I have a lunch date on Wednesday with some friends. I don’t know where we are going so I have not yet planned ahead but I will find out and I will exercise early morning as I won’t be able to at lunch. And I am expecting some hormonal challenges this week. I hope to ride through them better than last month.

Life is good. I feel stronger and healthier than I did this time last year. And I am going to keep moving towards a healthier and stronger me.

Leave a Reply

