Three things today and Thai Fish Curry

Today there are three things worth mentioning:
– this morning, after my shower, I wrapped the towel around me and there was no gape!
– during my lunch time walk I did 3 x 90 second jogging intervals! I can jog for 90 seconds without dying! It was actually further than I thought I would be able to mangage. And I was able to calculate how far one of the intervals was afterwards. It was 300m! I was so excited that…
– I shared my jogging success with my boss! My boss runs and before I started jogging I asked her how one runs because I did not know where to start. It was very exciting to share my little victory with her today 🙂

My legs are tired now 🙂 And I am happy 🙂

On Tuesday night my man cooked something new and it was really good. I thought I would share it here as what I cooked last night needs some more work.

My man wanted to make a coconut fish curry. My one request was that he get light coconut milk. And the wonderful man checked the tins of coconut milk so he could get the brand with the least kilojoules. I really appreciated it. And looking at the recipe today and calculating the nutritional info, there can be a really big difference with the kilojoules in different brands of light coconut milk. It is worthwhile checking the lables for this item.

The curry was hot and so it might be good to cut the chilli down a little. I also think that you could increase the fish and the mushrooms, perhaps add some eggplant but without increasing the sauce. This would allow you to serve more people and would drop the kJ per serve as the majority of the kJ are in the sauce. There was alot of sauce and we did not have all of the sauce even though we went back for seconds to fish out the rest of the … fish 🙂

Something to try for next time perhaps. There will be a next time for this dish 🙂

Thai Fish Curry
adapted from http://thaifood.about.com/od/thaiseafoodrecipes/r/easyfishcurry.htm

Curry Sauce Ingredients
1/2 cup fresh coriander (cilantro) leaves and stems, chopped
250mL Lite Coconut Milk (we used Trident brand)
2 onions
1 tbs minced ginger
1 tbs minced garlic
2 tbs fish sauce
2 tsp chilli powder
2 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp shrimp paste
1/2 tsp ground cayenne
Curry Ingredients
350g firm white fish fillets (we used basa), cut into inch cubes
100g mushrooms, sliced
1 red capsicum (pepper), deseeded and diced
1 medium tomato, diced
fresh coriander to garnish
lemon or lime wedges to garnish

Place all of the Curry Sauce Ingredients in a food processor or blender and process to form a smooth curry paste. Pour the sauce into a large frying pan or wok and place over medium heat. Bring to the boil.

Add the fish, mushrooms and capsicum. Stir well, reduce heat so that the sauce is simmering gently. Cover and cook for 6 minutes. Add the tomato and gently stir in. Cover and simmer for a further 3 minutes.

Adjust the seasoning – add more fish sauce instead of salt, add a little sugar if it is too sour, add lime or lemon juice if it is too salty or sweet.

Serve the curry over rice, garnish with fresh coriander sprigs and the lemon or lime wedges.

Nurtitional Information (not including the rice):
total: 3480 kJ, 26.5 g fat, 76 g protein, 49.5 g carb, 11.8 g fibre
per serve: 1740 kJ, 13.3 g fat, 38.1 g protein, 24.8 g carb, 5.9 g fibre

Leave a Reply

