Kangaroo Vindaloo

I have cooked something new tonight! Yesterday I sat down and planned several meals for next week. I don’t usually plan several meals at once but I thought I would try it out. On my list for the coming week is Pasta with Prawns (and tomato, onion, peas, artichokes), some sort of curry, Pork Loin with Couscous salad and Lamb Meatloaf. I wanted a mix of things with somthing that can go in the freezer, a couple of fast meals and something that was new.

I found a Beef Vindaloo recipe in the CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet (Book 2). I was going to make it with beef but decided to use Kangaroo instead. Kangaroo is available in the supermarkets now in Australia and it is a cheap and lean meat with a stronger flavour than beef. I have used kangaroo in stirfrys before (it goes wonderfully with teriyake marinade, garlic and beans) and in chilli con carne instead of beef. But Kangaroo Vindaloo??? I just love how the sounds flow 🙂 And it fulfils both my new and freezer food requirements.

I thought that the curry would benefit from slow cooking in the oven, and since I had the time, I cooked it earlier today. It gave the curry a chance to cool and meld before dinner time. It had 3 hours in the oven and when I checked the meat was falling apart and the liquid had reduced. I think that next time I will pop a layer of greasproof paper over the caserole dish and then put the lid on to reduce the amount of liquid loss. I am glad that I checked when I did.

I decided to serve the curry with rice and some steamed greens garnished with some crushed cashews. The curry was lovely. It had a good flavour balance and the kangaroo was delicious in it. I would have liked it a little hotter, it is a medium heat curry and vindaloo should be hot-hot. I will try increasing the chilli powder by half to start with next time. There will be a next time for this dish. I thought it was great and it was really easy as well. Once it was in the pan I left it there! I will try it again with beef and I would also consider doubling the recipe to get more into the freezer.

Vindaloo
(adapted from CSIRO TWB Diet Book 2)
Serves 4

1 tsp chilli powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground pepper
1 tsp ground turmeric
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1 tbs olive oil
2 onions, chopped
800g lean beef or kangaroo, cut into 4 cm pieces
2 tbs minced ginger
2 tsp minced garlic
1 stick cinnamon
2 cups water
1 green chilli, finely sliced
1/4 cup white vinegar
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tbs reduced fat natural yoghurt and coriander (cilantro) leaves to garnish

Mix the dry spices and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large heavy based saucepan or flame proof casserole dish over medium heat. Add the onions and cook for 10 minutes or until soft and golden. Remove from the pan. Brown the beef or kangaroo in batches, removing the meat from the pan when browned. Return all the meat and onions to the pan. Add the dry spices, ginger and garlic and cook for 2 minutes, or until fragrant. Add the water, cinnamon stick and chilli. Bring to the boil. Cook either on the stove top or in the oven.

Stove top: Reduce the heat to low and simmmer, covered, for 1 hour. Stir in the vinegar and sugar and cook for a further 20 minutes over a medium heat, uncovered.

Slow oven: Cover with a sheet of baking paper, then the lid and place in a preheated oven at 160’C. Cook for 3 hours. Stir in the vinegar and sugar. Depending on the liquid level, leave to sit for 15 minutes or cook over a medium heat for 15 minutes.

Serve with rice and steamed vegetables.

nutritional information
beef:
total – 5683 kJ, 58.2g fat, 169g protein, 38.5 g carb, 13.5 g fibre
per serve – 1421 kJ, 14.5g fat, 42.3 g protein, 7.7 g carb, 2.7 g fibre
kangaroo:
total – 5035 kJ, 32.6 g fat, 186 g protein, 38.5 g carb, 13.5 g fibre
per serve – 1258 kJ, 8.2 g fat, 46.5 g protein, 7.7 g carb, 2.7 g fibre

Leave a Reply

