Minced Lamb with Chickpeas

Tired tonight. I picked up an extra day of work this week and I have not been well *again*. I went for a simple meal tonight. It was good, my man liked it more than I did, but I liked it more than the toddler – well, he refused to try any so I am not sure if that is actually the case. I was just left feeling not quite satisfied and I can’t put my finger on why. I think some lemon would have helped. And some grated carrot would have worked really well too.

Actually, I think I will make it again to try including some preserved lemon with the meat. I will be putting some in the freezer for another night so I can try serving it slightly differently next time, too. It might make regular appearances on the menu 🙂

(Edit: very good with lemon. Going on the ‘dinner options’ list)

The recipe was adapted from the CSIRO Total WellBeing Diet Recipe Book.

Minced Lamb with Chickpeas
Serves 6

1 tbs olive oil
2 onions, roughly chopped
3 garlic cloves
1kg lean lamb mince
2 tbs morrocan spice mix
1/4 preserved lemon, finely diced (I would include this next time)
4 tomatoes
250g tinned chickpeas, rinsed
salt to taste
pita bread or tortillas to serve
baby spinach leaves to serve
hummus to serve
grated carrot to serve (I would include this next time)

Heat the olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the garlic and cook for a further minute. Add the mince, breaking up any lumps. Cook until the mince is browned. Stir in the spice mix (this is where I would add some preserved lemon next time) and cook for 1 minute, then add the tomato and chickpeas. Season with salt (to taste). Turn the heat down, cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Stir in the mint.

Serve with the spinach, hummus and grated carrot, using the pita bread/tortillas as a wrap.

nutritional info (not including the pita bread, spinach, hummus or carrot as it depends on what you are going to actually serve it with and how much):
total 8190 kJ, 225 g protein, 84 g fat, 57 g carb
per serve (6 serves) 1365 kJ, 37.5 g protein, 14 g fat, 9.5 g carb

Leave a Reply

