Panfried Chermoula Barramundi

I had planned to cook something new yesterday. I looked up the recipe, bought the ingredients but it did not happen. Most days with my toddler are good ones; yesterday was not. So, we had something easy for dinner and postponed the new food till tonight.

Tonight we had Chermoula Barramundi. I don’t cook alot of fish. I know that I should eat it more often, it is just that I didn’t grow up eating fish and it is not somthing that springs to mind when I am looking for a dinner option. And the recipe said pan fried… but when I looked there is not much oil in it at all so I thought I would give it a go. I adapted the recipe from one I saw in a magazine called Australian Healthy Food Guide which is a monthly magazine that I have just started buying. I like the look of it – some articles, a good number of healthy recipes and not all that expensive.

Chermoula is a marinade used in Morrocan cooking, usually for seafood and fish. Barramundi is an Australian fish. It is a firm white fish which can be substituted with bream, cod, flounder, kingfish, ling, perch, pike, snapper, shark, hake, whiting for roughly the same kJ intake.

I did like this meal. I served the fish with some lowfat oven bake potato wedges and a salad. The fish tasted nice and it was a light meal. I would cook this again.

Panfried Chermoula Barramundi

4 x 150g Barramundi fillet (or other firm white fish fillet)
1 tbs olive oil
1/3 cup finely chopped coriander (cilantro)
1 tbs lemon juice
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 tbs white wine vinegar
1 tsp sweet paprika
1 tsp ground cumin

Chermoula marinade:
Combine the coriander (cilantro), lemon juice, garlic, white wine vinegar, sweet paprika, ground cumin and half the olive oil. Spread the marinade onto the fish. Cover and refrigerate for an hour.

Heat the remaining oil in a frying pan over medium high heat. Cook the fish for 2 minutes on each side, or till cooked through.

Serve with salad.

Serves 4.

Nutritional info(per serve – without including any additional salad): 820kJ, 7 g fat, 1 g carb, 38 g protein

Leave a Reply

