7 weeks of the new routine

and these are my stats:
Start weight (3/1/2011) 140.9kg (310 lbs)
Current weight 127.9 kg (281.4 lbs)
This weeks loss 1kg (2.2 lbs)
Total lost 13.0kg (28.6 lbs)

Hurray for the loss! And Hurray for a loss of 1kg. I was starting to worry that I was losing weight too quickly. On the weekend I spent a couple of hours working out what my energy intake should be to maintain where I am and to lose at rates of 0.5kg and 1kg a week. Then I converted a ‘normal’ day from points to kilojoules to see how they compared. It took a while but in the end I was looking at the screen which said I was having the right amount of food for a 1kg loss a week. Which is what I wanted to see. I guess that I just needed the reassurance that I was doing the right thing because I don’t check in with anyone officially about what I am doing. I wanted to know that I was being sensible and healthy and that I should just stick to what I am doing.

I have this urge to tweak things at the moment. It is good that I am thinking and really conscious of what I am doing but I also need to be patient and consistent. I can’t change things every couple of weeks. I was reading one book last weekend which suggested when setting goals and making incremental changes that you should look at it over a one month period. Set a goal and make plans, implement and give it 21 days to see how the changes are going. Then review and set new goals, make plans and implement. I like this in theory but I am too impatient at the moment. It want to do it all now!!!

One of the changes I am thinking of making is shifting from the WW points system to simply counting kilojoules. I am not going to WW, I am not even using the current system in Australia (they changed in November). All the packaging of their products is going to change to the new ProPoints and I won’t be able to use it to count for my points. I don’t want to join to get the new material. I want to know what I am eating, I want to be able to manage my own intake. So, part of the calculations on the weekend were getting my head around what do I need in terms of food intake, how do I calculate it now and into the future. And if I do shift to something else, how am I going to record my food intake in an easy way. What I have now is *so* easy. I have an app on my phone and I think it is brilliant. I need something of a similar convenience to make it work for me. So, I am looking for phone apps and calorie counting spreadsheets on the internet and I am playing in excel with developing my own so that I can keep a file on my phone and update it where ever I am and then synch it to my computer at home. (Or use GoogleDocs but I there doesn’t seem to be a good GoogleDocs app for android systems? Why is that???) This is not a change I will be making soon, but it is something that I am looking into for the next few months.

The past week I went from having a cold, to having a light gastro bug, to having sinusitis. I was not a happy camper. I could not exercise, I wasn’t hungry some days but was emotional and frustrated and wanted to eat. But I had no sense of taste for most of the week. So, I did not have a great week and I was worried that I was not eating enough overall. And so, when I had the time I looked at what I was eating and am pleased I did that. I was able to go walking on the first day and the last day of the week. And overall, in the week, I kept within my food allocation. And in terms of my food, I was within my allocation when you look at the week as a whole.

A new week. I am not going to try and change what I am doing. I want to see that I get another steady loss at the end of this week. I need to be patient and consistent. It is the choices I make today about what I eat and how I move that will add up. And I am getting really close to a 10% loss from my start weight. I might make it next Monday – I will need a 1.1kg (2.6 lb) loss.

Leave a Reply

