Friday Walk and Wednesday Dinner

Yay for me šŸ™‚ I did go out walking this morning. I got up at 6 and went with the dog on my 45 minute round the suburb look rather than going out at 8 with the pram for my 70 minute round the hill nearby loop. It is still just too hot and humid to go out that bit later. And the dog had not been out all week so it was very good of me to take her with me.

And it made me realise that getting up early and going on the shorter walk can be one of my backup plans if I can’t go out later – like next week Wednesday when I have an early appt. It is very good to have backup plans in place šŸ™‚

I have eaten really well this week. I am happy with my food choices.

And Wednesday nights dinner was fab!!! Fab I say šŸ™‚ Larb Gai is a lovely light dinner option. I have cooked it with pork, chicken and turkey mince but I think in future I will just stick with turkey mince. Sometimes I serve it with rice, sometimes just salad. I had the left overs for lunch on Friday. My man looked at the kitchen bench, realised what we were having for dinner and made very appreciative comments. It is also a very good summer dinner because it is fresh and light and does not take too long to cook.

Larb Gai with Mint and Basil
(serves 3-4)

100ml chicken stock
500g minced chicken or turkey or pork
1/4 cup fish sauce
5 cm piece of fresh ginger, cut into matchsticks
1 long red chilli, seeds removed, cut into matchsticks
1 tsp sugar
2 tbs lime juice, plus extra lime wedges to serve
1 cup mint leaves, roughly chopped
1 cup basil leaves, roughly chopped
1/2 cup coriander (cilantro) leaves, roughly choppped
1 eschallot, peeled and finely sliced
1 lebanese cucumber, thinly sliced
10g roughly chopped peanuts/serve
lettuce, tomato, capsicum

Heat the stock in a wok or large frying pan over medium high heat. Add the mince, fish sauce and ginger and cook, breaking up the meat with a wooden spoon, for 5 minutes, or until the meat has browned and cooked through. Add the chilli and sugar and cook, stirring for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat. Add the lime juice, the chopped herbs and eschallot; fold through, allowing the herbs to wilt. Arrange the lettuce, cucumber and other salad bits on plates and, using a slotted spoon, pile the larb gai on the plate. Scatter with the peanuts and serve with the extra lime wedges.

Leave a Reply

