Friday Food – Mediterranean Baked Salmon

This morning I said to my man “I think Friday should be new dinner day!” He grunted. He was just waking up I was not disturbed by this. He is usually quite articulate. Instituting Friday as ‘New Dinner Day’ suits me quite well. I work part time and Friday I am at home with my little one so I can get to the shops and try out a new recipe. I really like cooking and I know I will get bored on this journey if I don’t keep my interest in food alive.

I know I posted another recipe this morning but I have had that one before. Tonight we had something new!!!

Mediterranean Baked Salmon. The salmon is baked in the oven with tomato, garlic, capers, lemon and onion on top, all wrapped up in foil. The flavours were really delicate but complex, it was easy to prepare and good for a hot thunderstorming night. I served it with a salad and the healthy version of oven wedges. It didn’t actually need the wedges as it was a substantial meal with the salmon and the salad. All together, the dinner cost me 8.5 points. I usually allow 8 points for a dinner so I was happy with that. (WW points in Australia are different to WW in other areas – and I am using the points system from last year. They moved to a new system at new year. So, you won’t be able to use the points as a guide for what you are doing. And I don’t know the nutritional info. But it is a healthy meal that you might be able to look at and see if it fits into your food planning.)

Mediterranean Baked Salmon
Serves 2

1 tomato, seeded and chopped
1 tsp capers, rinsed and drained
2 shallots, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
zest of 1/2 a lemon
olive oil spray
2 x 150g salmon fillets, skin* and bones removed
lemon wedges to serve
salad (we had lettuce, basil, tomato, marinated artichoke hearts; dress with a little lemon juice)

Heat the oven to 200’C (390’F)

Combine the tomato, capers shallots, garlic and lemon zest in a bowl.

Spray 2 x 30cm square sheets of foil with olive oil spray. Lay the salmon fillets on them, top with the tomato mixture. Bring the edges of the foil together to enclose the fish securely. Bake for 12 minutes or until the fish is cooked through. Remove the fish from the parcel and plate up with a salad and the lemon slices.

* I did not get skinless salmon fillets. I put the skin side down on the foil. It did stick a little which made the presentation not work quite so well but it did not matter to the taste.

Leave a Reply

