A new start

Pregnant then baby, put on heaps of weight. breast feeding helped for a while but then I started gaining again. Started feeling uncomfortable in my body.

Started thinking about how to go about losing weight. Some things I have learnt from before: I lose weight well on weightwatchers or csiro total well being diet. A little extra protein keeps me feeling fuller for longer. I don’t need to belong to a group but can manage it myself if I have a good tracking system in place. I need a time frame that I can grasp and a weight loss goal that I can grasp. I need to be obsessed about it. I need somewhere to journal what is happening as well.

Which is why I have come here. I want to journal the good things, do a weekly summary, catch interesting things I eat, be able to air frustrations, ideas and struggles.

My plan is a 40 week plan. I know what 40 weeks is like, it has a start and a stop and what I have lost in previous efforts was achieved in a similiar time frame but then I got lost. My 40 weeks starts Jan 3rd on a Monday. It will take me through to the first weekend in October. In 40 weeks I want to lose about 35kg. That puts me just above 100kg and is where I got caught last time. So I know I can get that far.

I am using the ww points system but tracking on my own with a cool app on my phone. But what it doesn’t do is allow me to make notes for different days. I want to do that. This is that this journal will do. My twist on the points system is that I have more protein than they would probably recommend so it is a like a cross between the csiro diet and ww.

Things I need to keep in my head:
– I don’t eat my little boy’s food. I just don’t. Not the crusts, not the tastes to see if it is cool enough. I just don’t.
– If I want a treat one is enough. I don’t need 2 biscuits or 2 chocolates or 2 of anything. I have been in the habit of having 2 of things and that has to stop.
– drink water, have some chewing gum on hand. Know what the next thing is going to be so that I don’t freak out. Have something on hand just in case I get caught out.
– need to fit in exercise.

There will be more things as I think of them.

I also want to try an anchoring technique that i learnt in training last year. If I can put in an anchor that takes me mentally to a place where I am determined and strong and successful I can use that when I feel weak or frustrated. I need to work out my image/scene to go to. The anchor word is ‘determined’ and the physical anchor is squeezing my right fist.

I was playing with the idea of turning my food issues into an ‘inner demon that I have to battle’ scenario but I don’t think it is that healthy. I think accepting that I have issues with emotional eating/boredom eating/social eating rather than turning it all into an inner demon is going to be better in the long run.

So, this is where I am. This is the plan and some of my big thoughts around it.

2 responses to “A new start

  1. Pingback: 40 weeks – done and dusted | Lighter Plane of Being

  2. Pingback: First Anniversary Post | Lighter Plane of Being

Leave a Reply

